Skip main navigation
Home>The Association>UNE Information Room>News>New European e-Competence Framework standard

New European e-Competence Framework standard


El comité Europeo de Normalización (CEN) ha publicado la nueva versión de la norma EN 16234-1 que establece el marco común europeo de e-Competencias para los profesionales de las Tecnologías de la Información y la Comunicación (TIC) en todos los sectores de actividad. The standard will be available in Spanish in the next few months in the catalogue of UNE, Spanish member of the CEN.

The standard offers a reference of 41 skills required and applied in the professional ICT work environment, using a common language for competences, skills and proficiency levels throughout Europe.

This standard has been created to support mutual understanding and provide transparency in language by articulating the skills required and deployed by ICT professionals.

The EN 16234-1 incorporates additional transversal aspects, important in the ICT workplace, such as accessibility, ethics, legal aspects, privacy, security, sustainability and usability.

The standard is aimed at:

- ICT service companies, users and suppliers;

- ICT professionals, managers and Human Resources departments;

- professional education institutions and training organisations, including higher education;

- social partners (trade unions and business associations);

- professional associations;  

- accreditation, validation and evaluation bodies;

- market analysts and public policy-makers, as well as other organisations and stakeholders in the public and private sectors.

The preparation of this standard has been supported by the European Commission due to its importance for the development of a strong and competitive digital economy in the EU. It is a fundamental component of the EU strategy for digital skills in the 21st century ( The new version offers great opportunities to continue to disseminating and adopting the framework throughout Europe.