Skip main navigation
Home>The Association>UNE Information Room>News>IEC recognises four experts from Spanish companies
IEC recognises four experts from Spanish companies

IEC recognises four Spanish experts


One again this year, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) has presented its IEC 1906 Awards. The Spanish Association for Standardization, UNE, is the Spanish member of the IEC.

The aim of these awards is to recognize experts from around the world, whose work has made an outstanding contribution to the functioning of this international standardization body.

This year four Spanish experts were awarded for their outstanding recent contributions to the work carried out in conjunction with different IEC committees:

José Luis Villate (TECNALIA), expert in IEC/TC 114 Marine Energy – Wave, tidal and other water current converters, was nominated by the chairperson of this committee, in acknowledgement of his participation since its creation in 2008. José Luis has been a Spanish delegate at almost every single plenary meeting of the IEC/TC 114, and has served as a liaison between the International Energy Agency-Ocean Energy Systems (IEA-OES) and the IEC/TC 114.


Miguel Martínez (CERE), expert in IECRE (IEC System for Certification to Standards relating to Equipment for Use in Renewable Energy Applications), was nominated by the chairperson of this IEC conformity assessment system, in recognition of his work and contributions within the solar photovoltaic sector of the IECRE; he is commended for his leadership in the group PV-OMC WG 401 Rules of procedure, where his knowledge and expertise have been instrumental in drawing up basic documents for the system.


Miguel Bañón (DEKRA), expert in ISO/IEC JTC 1 ISO/IEC Joint Technical Committee on information technology, was nominated by the chairperson and secretary of this committee, awarding his leadership in the JTC1/SC 27/WG3 Security evaluation, testing and specification. Miguel's management has been efficient and results-oriented, and he has acted as liaison with the Common Criteria Board.


Fabienne Sallaberry (CENER), expert in IEC/TC 117 Solar thermal electric plants, nominated by the chairperson and secretary of the IEC/TC 117 in acknowledgement of his role as leader of the group PT 62862-3-2, which led to the publication of the IEC 62862-3-2:2018, Solar thermal electric plants – Part 3-2: Systems and components – General requirements and test methods for large-size parabolic-trough collectors.


Having award-winning experts in these leading committees, related to renewable energies and information technologies, is an indicator of the leadership of these Spanish sectors in international standardization.

Twenty Spanish experts have received this award since its creation in 2004.